The Energy, Environment and Natural Resources Committee is responsible for developing policy and leading NLC’s advocacy on infrastructure and sustainability-related issues such as water infrastructure and water quality, air quality, energy, climate change, solid and hazardous waste management, local food systems, and public lands. Most recently, the committee has focused on issues pertaining to water infrastructure, such as financing mechanisms and addressing community and residential affordability, and climate change mitigation, adaptation and community resilience. 

NLC’s Federal Advocacy Committee members include local elected officials and city staff from NLC member cities and towns across the country who are committed to discussing and influencing federal policy that has a direct and profound impact on local government operations. 

2022 Leadership
  • Chair: Emily Larson, Mayor, City of Duluth, MN
  • Vice Chair: Cindy Dyballa, Councilmember, Takoma Park, MD
  • Vice Chair: Brian Jones, Councilmember, City of Union City, GA
2022 Meetings and Events
View the policies and resolutions crafted by and voted on by the Energy, Environment, and Natural Resources Committee: 

Click here to view the full 2022 National Municipal Policy book containing each of the Federal Advocacy Committee chapters and resolutions.