NLC is governed by a board of directors that is comprised of four officers (president, first vice president, second vice president, and immediate past president), all past presidents still in local government service, eight state league directors, seven advocacy committee chairs, and forty at-large members.

The president, first vice president, and second vice president are elected to one-year terms during the annual business meeting, and twenty local elected officials are elected to serve two-year terms as at-large members of the board. An elected official must currently hold elected office in an NLC-member city to serve in a leadership position.

2021 Board of Directors

Clarence E. Anthony
CEO & Executive Director
Kathy Maness
Councilmember, Lexington, South Carolina
Vince Williams
First Vice President
Mayor, Union City, GA
Victoria Woodards
Second Vice President
Mayor, Takoma, Washington
Joe Buscaino
Immediate Past President Councilmember, 15th District, Los Angeles, California

  • Denise Adams, Councilmember, City of Winston-Salem, NC
  • Cyndy Andrus, Mayor, City of Bozeman, MT
  • Robin Arredondo-Savage, Councilmember, City of Tempe, AZ
  • Geoffrey C. Beckwith, Executive Director, Massachusetts Municipal Association
  • Elizabeth Carr-Hurst, Mayor, Fairburn, Georgia (Human Development Chair)
  • Brad Cole, Executive Director, Illinois Municipal League
  • Carolyn Coleman, Executive Director, League of California Cities
  • Valerie Cooper, Council Member, Borough of Norristown, PA
  • Daniel Corona, Mayor, West Wendover, NV
  • Hardie Davis, Mayor, Augusta, GA
  • Mary Dennis, Mayor, City of Live Oak, TX
  • Cameron Diehl, Executive Director, Utah League of Cities and Towns
  • Mark Douglas, Commissioner, Sunrise, Florida (Finance, Administration and Intergovernmental Relations Chair)
  • Bruce Duke, Councilmember, Kettering, OH
  • Brandon Elefante, Councilmember, Honolulu, HI (1yr. Term)
  • John Fogle, Councilmember, Loveland, Colorado (Information Technology and Communications Chair)
  • John Gallagher, Executive Director, Louisiana Municipal Association
  • John Goodhouse, Council President, City of Tigard, OR
  • Derek Green, Councilmember, City of Philadelphia, PA
  • Heather Hall, Councilmember, City of Kansas City, MO
  • Larry Hanson, Executive Director, Georgia Municipal Association
  • Shannon Hardin, Council President, City of Columbus, OH
  • Don Hardy, Mayor, City of Kinston, NC
  • Jeanette Herron, Councilmember, Bridgeport, CT
  • Deana Holiday Ingraham, Mayor, East Point, GA
  • David Holt, Mayor, Oklahoma City, OK
  • Lindsey Horvath, Mayor, West Hollywood, CA
  • Tameika Isaac Devine, Mayor Pro Tem, City of Columbia, SC
  • Brent Jaramillo, Councilor, Village of Questa, NM
  • Rusty Johnson, Mayor, City of Ocoee, FL
  • Leo Longworth, Mayor, City of Bartow, FL
  • Corina Lopez, Councilmember, San Leandro, CA
  • David Luna, Councilmember, City of Mesa, AZ
  • Jesse Matthews, Councilmember  of Bessemer, AL (CED Chair)
  • Adam McGough, Deputy Mayor Pro Tem, City of Dallas, TX
  • Josh Moenning, Mayor, Norfolk, NE
  • Richard Montgomery, Mayor Pro Tem, City of Manhattan Beach, CA
  • Tara Mosley Samples, Councilmember, City of Akron, OH
  • Salvatore Panto, Mayor, City of Easton, PA
  • Stephanie Piko, Mayor, City of Centennial, CO
  • Sean Polster, Vice Mayor, Warrenton, VA
  • Brian J. O’Neill, Councilmember, Philadelphia, PA (Past President)
  • Gary Resnick, Commissioner, City of Wilton Manors, FL
  • L. Lynn Rex, Executive Director, League of Nebraska Municipalities
  • Andy Ryder, Mayor, City of Lacey, WA
  • David Sander, Mayor, Rancho Cordova, California (Transportation and Infrastructure Services Chair)
  • Laurie-Anne Sayles, Council Vice President, Gaithersburg, MD
  • Richard J. Schuettler, Executive Director, Pennsylvania Municipal League
  • Ellen Smith, Councilmember, Oak Ridge (Tennessee, Energy, Environment and Natural Resources Chair)
  • Jake Spano, Mayor, City of St. Louis Park, MN
  • Ty Stober, Councilmember, Vancouver, Washington (1yr. Term)
  • Gilbert Villegas, Alderman, Chicago, IL
  • Alan Wapner, Councilmember, Ontario, California (Public Safety and Crime Prevention Chair)
  • Angelia Washington, Councilmember, Jacksonville, NC (1yr. Term)
  • Steve Williams, Mayor, Huntington, WV

Past Presidents

woman on tablet in coffee shop

NLC Bylaws

NLC Bylaws: Amended on November 19, 2016. Download and review the bylaws here.

2021 Leadership Application

Are you interested in applying for the NLC Board of Directors?  
Please review this important information regarding applications for NLC Officers and Board of Directors.

Comments or Questions?

Contact our Governance and Leadership Manager, Carla Smith, at