

PAST PRESIDENTSOF THE NATIONAL LEAGUE OF CITIES

(titles noted are those held when elected as NLC President)

2024	Mayor David M. Sander, Rancho Cordova, California
2023	Mayor Victoria Woodards, Tacoma, Washington
2022	Mayor Vince Williams, Union City, Georgia
2021	Councilmember Kathy Maness, Lexington, South Carolina
2020	Councilmember Joe Buscaino, Los Angeles, California
2019	Mayor Karen Freeman-Wilson, Gary, Indiana
2018	Mayor Mark Stodola, Little Rock, Arkansas
2017	Councilmember Matt Zone, Cleveland, Ohio
2016	Councilmember Melode Colbert-Kean, Joplin, Missouri
2015	Mayor Ralph Becker, Salt Lake City, Utah
2014	Mayor Christopher Coleman, Saint Paul, Minnesota
2013	Mayor Marie Lopez Rogers, Avondale, Arizona
2012	Mayor Ted Ellis, Bluffton, Indiana
2011	Councilmember James Mitchell, Jr., Charlotte, North Carolina
2010	Mayor Ronald O. Loveridge, Riverside, California
2009	Mayor Kathleen Novak, Northglenn, Colorado
2008	Councilmember Cynthia McCollum, Madison, Alabama
2007	Mayor Bart Peterson, Indianapolis, Indiana
2006	Councilmember James C. Hunt, Clarksburg, West Virginia
2005	Mayor Anthony A. Williams, Washington, District of Columbia
2004	Selectman Charles Lyons, Arlington, Massachusetts
2003	Mayor John DeStefano, Jr., New Haven, Conneticut
2002	Mayor Karen J. Anderson, Minnetonka, Minnesota
2001	Mayor Dennis W. Archer, Detroit, Michigan
2000	Mayor Bob Knight, Wichita, Kansas
1999	Mayor Clarence E. Anthony, South Bay, Florida
1998	Councilman Brian J. O'Neill, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1997	Councilmember Mark Schwartz, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1996	Mayor Gregory S. Lashutka, Columbus, Ohio
1995	Councilwoman-at-Large Carolyn Long Banks, Atlanta, Georgia
1994	Mayor Sharpe James, Newark, New Jersey



1993	Mayor Donald M. Fraser, Minneapolis, Minnesota
1992	Commissioner Glenda E. Hood, Orlando, Florida
1991	Mayor Sidney Barthelemy, New Orleans, Louisana
1990	Mayor Bob Bolen, Fort Worth, Texas
1989	Mayor Terry Goddard, Phoenix, Arizona
1988	Councilor Pamela P. Plumb, Portland, Maine
1987	Councilwoman-at-Large Cathy Reynolds, Denver, Colorado
1986	Mayor Henry G. Cisneros, San Antonio, Texas
1985	Mayor George V. Voinovich, Cleveland, Ohio
1984	Mayor George Latimer, St. Paul, Minnesota
1983	Mayor Charles Royer, Seattle, Washington
1982	Mayor Ferd L. Harrison, Scotland Neck, North Carolina
1981	Mayor William H. Hudnut, III, Indianapolis, Indiana
1980	Councilwoman Jessie M. Rattley, Newport News, Virginia
1979	Mayor John P. Rousakis, Savannah, Georgia
1978	Mayor Tom Moody, Columbus, Ohio
1977	Council Member Phyllis Lamphere, Seattle, Washington
1976	Mayor Hans G. Tanzler, Jacksonville, Florida
1975	Mayor Carlos Romero Barcelo, San Juan, Peurto Rico
1975	Mayor Jake Garn, Salt Lake City, Utah (honorary for 1st 2 months of 1975)
1974	Mayor Tom Bradley, Los Angeles, California
1973	Mayor Roman S. Gribbs, Detroit, Michigan
1972	Mayor Sam Massell, Atlanta, Georgia
1971	Mayor Richard G. Lugar, Indianapolis, Indiana
1970	Mayor Frank Curran, San Diego, California
1969	Mayor Beverly Briley, Nashville, Tennessee
1968	Mayor James H. J. Tate, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1967	Mayor Harold M. Tollefson, Tacoma, Washington
1966	Mayor Jerome P. Cavanagh, Detroit, Michigan
1965	Mayor Henry W. Maier, Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1964	Mayor John F. Collins, Boston, Massachusetts
1963	Mayor Lewis Cutrer, Houston, Texas
1962	Mayor Gordon S. Clinton, Seattle, Washington (1/62-8/62)



1962	Mayor Richardson Dilworth, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania (8/61-1/62)
1961	Mayor Don Hummel, Tucson, Arizona
1960	Mayor Raymond R. Tucker, St. Louis, Missouri
1959	Mayor Anthony J. Celebrezze, Cleveland, Ohio
1958	Mayor George Christopher, San Francisco, California
1957	Mayor Ben West, Nashville, Tennessee
1956	Mayor Robert F. Wagner, Jr., New York, New York
1955	Mayor Allen C. Thompson, Jackson, Mississippi
1954	Mayor William E. Kemp, Kansas City, Missouri
1953	Mayor William B. Hartsfield, Atlanta, Georgia
1952	Mayor A. E. Cobo, Detroit, Michigan
1951	Mayor William F. Devin, Seattle, Washington
1950	Mayor Quigg Newton, Denver, Colorado
1949	Mayor DeLesseps S. Morrison, New Orleans, Louisiana
1948	Mayor Fletcher Bowron, Los Angeles, California
1947	Mayor Woodall Rodgers, Dallas, Texas
1946	Mayor R. E. Riley, Portland, Oregon
1945	Mayor Wilson W. Wyatt, Louisville, Kentucky
1944	Herbert A. Olson, Michigan Municipal League
1943	Mayor Charles E. Lee, Decatur, Illinois
1941-42	E. E. McAdams, League of Texas Municipalities
1940	Richard Graves, League of California Cities
1939	C. C. Ludwig, League of Minnesota Cities
1938	Morton L. Wallerstein, League of Virginia Municipalities
1937	City Manager Andrew Joyner, Jr., Greensboro, North Carolina
1936	John G. Stutz, League of Kansas Municipalities
1935	William P. Capes, New York State Conference of Mayors
1934	Harold D. Smith, Michigan Municipal League
1933	Frederick N. MacMillin, League of Wisconsin Municipalities
1930-32	Sedley H. Phinney, New Jersey State League of Municipalities
1930	Harvey W. Draper, League of Texas Municipalities
1929	Don C. Sowers, Colorado Municipal League
1928	A. D. McLarty, Illinois Municipal League



Morton L. Wallerstein, League of Virginia Municipalities

1924-26 Morris B. Lambrie, League of Minnesota Cities

Updated: November 27, 2024