Women in Municipal Government (WIMG)

Women in Municipal Government (WIMG) constituency group was formed in 1974 to serve as a forum for communication and networking among women local elected officials and their colleagues within the National League of Cities (NLC). It strives to raise awareness about issues of concern to women, and it encourages women to seek public office in their communities.


Over the years, WIMG has worked to ensure that women hold leadership positions within NLC and serve on its Board of Directors and other special leadership groups. It has successfully forged a prominent role for women in the development of NLC's National Municipal Policy and its agenda for the nation's cities and towns. WIMG has a Board of Directors as well as an Advisory Council, which consists of its past presidents who remain in elected or appointed municipal office.

2018 Officers

The WIMG Board of Directors is elected annually at the NLC Congress of Cities from the group's membership. Each year, members are encouraged to submit their nominations for service on the Board. For information about Board nominations and an application form, see the section about membership.

President First Vice President Second Vice President
Joyce Sheperd Amy Marie




Joyce Sheperd
Atlanta, Georgia
AmyMarie Vizzo-Paniccia
Bridgeport, Connecticut

Lindsey Horvath
West Hollywood, California

Board Roster

WIMG 2018 Board of Directors

Joyce Sheperd, Councilmember, Atlanta

First Vice President:
AmyMarie Vizzo-Paniccia, Councilmember, Bridgeport, Conn.

Second Vice President:
Lindsey Horvath, Councilmember, West Hollywood, Calif. 

Immediate Past President:
Mary McComber, Mayor, Oak Park Heights, Minn.

At-Large Board Members
Jean Abernathy-Smith, Councilmember Pro Tem, Highland Hills, Ohio
Shelly Barnhart, Councilmember, Lincoln, Ala.
Wally Campbell, Vice Mayor, Goodyear, Ariz. 
Gloria J. Battle, Commissioner, Deerfield Beach, Fla.
Carolyn H. Bell, Mayor Pro Tem, Savannah, Georgia
Tameika Isaac Devine, Councilwoman, Columbia, S.C. 
Julie Fishman, Commissioner,  Tamarac, Fla.  
Madelyn Scales Harris, Councilmember, Murfreesboro, Tenn. 
Sharon Hurt, Councilmember, Nashville, Tenn.
Del Mims, Commissioner, Creedmoor, N.C. 
Lillian Moore, Council President, Highland Hills, Ohio
Linda Omobien, Councilmember, Akron, Ohio
Serena Schermoly, Councilmember, Prairie Village, Kan. 
Kimyada Wellington, Trustee, Maywood, Ill. 
Beverly M Williams, Commissioner, Lauderdale Lakes, Fla. 
Cynthia Wright-Toles, Councilmember, Gadsden, Ala.

Advisory Council (WIMG Past Presidents who remain in elected office):
M. Margaret Bates, Commissioner, Lauderhill, Fla.
Mary Brown, Councilmember, Gary, Ind.
Mildred C. Crump, Council President, Newark, N.J.
Kathy Maness, Councilmember, Lexington, S.C.
Kay Senter, Vice Mayor, Morristown, Tenn.


WIMG welcomes new and returning members each year. The easiest way to join WIMG is by paying annual dues at the City Summit annual conference. Information about joining is available in our membership brochure

To join, please complete the the membership application and send it to constituencygroups@nlc.org.

WIMG Summer Conference

Cleveland, Ohio
June 21-23, 2017

+ Learn More

WIMG Leadership Award

Apply today for the 2017 WIMG Leadership Award! Nominations are being accepted until October 6, 2017.

+ Learn More