National League of Cities Appoints Chairs and Vice Chairs of Eight Member Councils

January 25, 2022 - (3 min read)

WASHINGTON, DC – The National League of Cities has appointed local leaders from a diverse group of cities, towns and villages across the United States to lead its Member Councils. Individuals have been appointed to serve a one-year term, during which they will help develop and guide programs among local elected officials from similar communities. The appointment was announced by NLC President Mayor Vince Williams of Union City, Georgia.  

“Our member councils are the voices of what’s happening on the ground in our communities,” said Mayor Williams. “Together with this team of local leaders from around the country, we will work to solve the most pressing challenges facing our communities and help fulfill the promise of our America’s cities, towns and villages.”  

Council on Youth, Education and Families 

Chair:  Tishaura Jones, Mayor, St. Louis, MO

First Tier Suburbs Council  

Chair:  Ty Stober, Mayor Pro Tem, Vancouver, WA 

Vice Chair:  Kristopher Dahir, Councilmember, Sparks, NV 

Vice Chair:  Marlo Alston, Councilmember, Centennial, CO 

Large Cities Council 

Chair:  Brandon Elefante, Councilmember, Honolulu, HI

Vice Chair:  Jeanette Herron, Councilmember, Bridgeport, CT

Vice Chair:  Andreas Addison, Councilmember, Richmond, VA 

Small Cities Council 

Chair:  Dontario Hardy, Mayor, Kinston, NC 

Vice Chair:  Janet Arbuckle, Vice Mayor, Grass Valley, CA 

Vice Chair:  Mark Shepherd, Mayor, Clearfield, UT 

Military Communities Council 

Chair:  Clayton, Perry, Councilmember, San Antonio, TX 

Vice Chair:  Angelia Washington, Councilmember, Jacksonville, NC 

Race, Equity & Leadership (REAL) Council 

Co-Chair:  Janice Zahn, Councilmember, Bellevue, WA 

Co-Chair:  Casey Thomas, Councilmember, Dallas, TX 

Vice Chair:  Patrick Wojahn, Mayor, College Park, MD

Vice Chair:  Steve Patterson, Mayor, Athens, OH

University Communities Council 

Chair:  Sena Magill, Vice Mayor, Charlottesville, VA 

Vice Chair:  Shakeyla Ingram, Councilmember, Fayetteville, NC 

Advisory Council 

The Advisory Council is composed of all former members of the Board of Directors who are no longer eligible for Board seats but who remain in local elected office. The NLC President appoints the Advisory Council Chair as well as any vice chair(s). This body meets three times per year in alignment with the schedule of the NLC Board. As part of their work plan, the Advisory Council supports the leadership agenda of the NLC President, identifies prospective candidates for high-level service within NLC, and contributes to the success of federal advocacy initiatives. 

Chair:  Alfred Mae Drakeford, Mayor, Camden, SC 

Vice Chair:  Matthew Surrency, Commissioner, Hawthorne, FL 

Vice Chair:  Tito Rodriguez, Councilmember, North Richland Hills, TX 


The National League of Cities (NLC) is the voice of America’s cities, towns and villages, representing more than 200 million people across the country. NLC works to strengthen local leadership, influence federal policy and drive innovative solutions. Stay connected with NLC on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn and Instagram.