National League of Cities Elects New President and Board Members

November 19, 2021 - (4 min read)

The National League of Cities (NLC) has elected Mayor Vince Williams of Union City, GA as its new president. He stepped into the new role at the 2021 City Summit held this week virtually. Williams will serve a one-year term focused on addressing vaccine hesitation, protecting the right to vote and access to the polls, and reducing homelessness. 

Vince Williams
Mayor Vince Williams (Union City, GA), president, National League of Cities

“I am proud to be stepping into this role at a time when America’s cities, towns and villages are leading from the frontlines,” said National League of Cities President Vince Williams, mayor of Union City, GA. “Local leaders have a unique opportunity to rebuild their communities from the COVID-19 pandemic to be more equitable and prosperous places as we reclaim, renew and reimagine every city, town and village. That’s why my theme for this year is focused on fulfilling the promise of America’s cities through Service, Advocacy, and Action and how NLC is ready to support local leaders and deliver our piece of the promise.”  

First elected to the Union City Council in 2007, Williams’ first priority as a Councilmember was to create a strong economic base for Union City by attracting professional and commercial businesses that would transform the city into a full-scale, financially sound, livable community. Under his leadership, the mayor has fostered relationships with local businesses that have called Union City home for years, like Universal Forestry Products, Mortensen Woodwork, General Electric, Dendreon and Kraft Foods. The success of those businesses has established Union City as the address of choice for many Fortune 500 companies such as Proctor and Gamble, Walmart, Amazon – and attracted international giants such as ASOS. 

Mayor Victoria Woodards of Tacoma, WA will serve as First Vice President. Councilmember David Sander of Rancho Cordova, CA was elected Second Vice President.

In addition to the president, NLC members also elected new members to its board of directors and appointed chairs for its policy committees.  

The following individuals were appointed to the NLC board of directors for a two-year term:  
  • Gyna Bivens, Mayor Pro Tem, Fort Worth, TX
  • Nathaniel Booker, Mayor, Maywood, IL  
  • Steve Callaway, Mayor, Hillsboro, OR  
  • Mary Dennis, Mayor, Live Oak, TX  
  • John Fogle, City Councilor, Loveland, CO  
  • John Goodhouse, City Councilor, Tigard, OR  
  • Rick Grady, Councilmember, Plano, TX  
  • Derek Green, Councilmember, Philadelphia, PA 
  • Heather Hall, Councilmember, Kansas City, MO 
  • Shannon Hardin, Council President, Columbus, OH  
  • Dontario Hardy, Mayor, Kinston, NC  
  • Emmett Jordan, Mayor Pro Tem, Greenbelt, MD  
  • Leo Longworth, Commissioner, Bartow, FL 
  • Adam McGough, Councilmember, Dallas, TX  
  • Denise Mitchell, Councilmember, College Park, MD  
  • Tara Mosley-Samples, Councilmember, Akron, OH  
  • Teresa Mosqueda, Councilmember, Seattle, WA  
  • Steve Patterson, Mayor, Athens, OH  
  • Stephanie Piko, Mayor, Centennial, CO  
  • Christopher Roberts, Councilmember, Shoreline, WA 
  • Joshua Simmons, Vice Mayor, Coral Springs, FL  
  • Jake Spano, Mayor, St. Louis Park, MN 
  • Ty Stober, Councilmember, Vancouver, WA  
  • Brian Traugott, Mayor, Versailles, KY  
  • Angelia Washington, Councilmember, Jacksonville, NC  
  • Carroll Watson, Mayor, Lincoln, AL  
  • Janice Zahn, Councilmember, Bellevue, WA 

The following individuals were appointed to serve a one-year term on the NLC board of directors: 
  • Brandon Elefante, Councilmember, Honolulu, HI  
  • Dan Fowler, Councilmember, Kansas City, MO 

NLC also appointed the following State Municipal League Executive Directors: 
  • Peter Baynes, Executive Director, New York Conference of Mayors  
  • Travis Blosser, Executive Director, West Virginia Municipal League  
  • Kevin Bommer, Executive Director, Colorado Municipal League  
  • Mike Cully, Executive Director, League of Oregon Cities  

In addition, NLC appointed chairs of its seven policy committees for a one-year term. The new Federal Advocacy Committee chairs are:  

Community and Economic Development

Sharon Weston Broome, Mayor-President, Baton Rouge, LA 

Energy, Environment, and Natural Resources

Emily Larson, Mayor, Duluth, MN 

Finance Administration and Intergovernmental Relations

Matt Orlando, Councilmember Chandler, AZ 

Human Development

Kacy Kostiuk, Councilmember, Takoma Park, MD  

Information Technology and Communications

Chrelle Booker, Mayor Pro Tem, Tryon, NC 

Public Safety and Crime Prevention

Joel Navarro, Councilmember, Tempe AZ  

Transportation and Infrastructure Services

Elaine Clegg, Council President, Boise, ID 


The National League of Cities (NLC) is the voice of America’s cities, towns and villages, representing more than 200 million people across the country. NLC works to strengthen local leadership, influence federal policy and drive innovative solutions. Stay connected with NLC on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn and Instagram.