New President and Board Members Elected to National League of Cities

November 20, 2020 - (3 min read)

Washington, DC – Lexington, South Carolina Councilmember Kathy Maness has been elected president of the National League of Cities, the nation’s largest membership and advocacy organization for local elected officials, at the 2020 Virtual City Summit. Maness will serve a one-year term focused on responding, recovering and rebuilding our communities. 

“I am honored to be elected as President of this organization that is on the forefront of our nation’s issues,” said National League of Cities President Kathy Maness, councilmember from Lexington, South Carolina. “The Board of Directors is a team of local leaders dedicated to their communities, I look forward to working together and continuing to fight for America’s cities, towns and villages.” 

Maness has been an active member of NLC since taking public office in 2004, including serving as president of the Women in Municipal Government (WIMG) constituency group. The councilmember has also served in other roles including NLC’s Council on Youth, Education and Families, the Board Finance and Audit Committees, and the Board of Directors. Her areas of expertise include education, finance and youth civic engagement opportunities. 

In addition to her role as a councilmember, Maness is the Executive Director of Palmetto State Teachers Association, previously serving as the president while teaching third grade at Erwin Elementary in Lancaster County. Though these experiences, Maness has worked with the South Carolina legislature for 25 years, gaining experience testifying in committees and lobbying members. 

National League of Cities Officers

Nominated for a one-year term
  • President: Kathy Maness, councilmember, Lexington, SC 
  • First Vice President: Vince Williams, mayor, Union City, GA 
  • Second Vice President: Victoria Woodards, mayor, Tacoma, WA 

New 2021 NLC Board of Directors

Nominated for a two-year term
  • Daniel Corona, Mayor, West Wendover, Nevada 
  • Hardie Davis, Mayor, Augusta, Georgia 
  • Bruce Duke, Councilmember, Kettering, Ohio 
  • Jeanette Herron, Councilmember, Bridgeport, Connecticut 
  • Deana Holiday Ingraham, Mayor, East Point, Georgia 
  • David Holt, Mayor, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 
  • Lindsey Horvath, Mayor, West Hollywood, California 
  • Corina Lopez, Councilmember, San Leandro, California 
  • Josh Moenning, Mayor, Norfolk, Nebraska 
  • Sean Polster, Councilmember, Warrenton, Virginia 
  • Gilbert Villegas, Alderman, Chicago, Illinois 
  • Chasity Wells-Armstrong, Mayor, Kankakee, Illinois 
  • Steve Williams, Mayor, Huntington, West Virginia
Nominated for a one-year term
  • Brandon Elefante, Councilmember, Honolulu, Hawaii
  • Ty Stober, Councilmember, Vancouver, Washington
  • Angelia Washington, Councilmember, Jacksonville, North Carolina

State Municipal League Executive Directors 

  • Brad Cole, Executive Director, Illinois Municipal League 
  • John Gallagher, Executive Director, Louisiana Municipal Association 
  • Larry Hanson, Executive Director, Georgia Municipal Association 
  • L. Lynn Rex, Executive Director, League of Nebraska Municipalities 

Federal Advocacy Chairs

Nominated for a one-year term
  • Elizabeth Carr-Hurst, Mayor, Fairburn, Georgia, Human Development 
  • Mark Douglas, Commissioner, Sunrise, Florida, Finance, Administration and Intergovernmental Relations 
  • John Fogle, Councilmember, Loveland, Colorado, Information Technology and Communications 
  • David Sander, Mayor, Rancho Cordova, California, Transportation and Infrastructure Services 
  • Ellen Smith, Councilmember, Oak Ridge, Tennessee, Energy, Environment and Natural Resources 
  • Craig Thurmond, Mayor, Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, Community and Economic Development 
  • Alan Wapner, Councilmember, Ontario, California, Public Safety and Crime Prevention  


The National League of Cities (NLC) is the voice of America’s cities, towns and villages, representing more than 200 million people across the country. NLC works to strengthen local leadership, influence federal policy and drive innovative solutions. Stay connected with NLC on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn and Instagram.