NLC Elects New Leaders for Caucuses

December 16, 2019 - (3 min read)

The National League of Cities has elected new leaders for its caucuses focused on Black, Latino, women, Asian, and LGBTQ communities. The elected officials will lead NLC’s five constituency groups: the National Black Caucus of Local Elected Officials (NBC-LEO), Hispanic Elected Local Officials (HELO), Women in Municipal Government (WIMG),  Asian Pacific American Municipal Officials (APAMO), and Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender Local Officials (LGBTLO). Individuals were elected during the 2019 City Summit conference in San Antonio, Texas.

“Our constituency groups offer an essential perspective for NLC. Their experiences and unique understanding of their communities ensure that NLC is inclusive and welcoming to a variety of opinions and policy positions,” said NLC President Joe Buscaino, councilmember, Los Angeles. “I am excited to work with each of these leaders over the coming year to build innovation-driven economies, address homelessness on a national scale, and strengthen our partnerships with federal leaders.” 

NBC-LEO provides a space for black local elected officials to share best practices, learn from each other and promote policy positions that strengthen their communities. NBC-LEO officers (elected for one year):

President:                   Councilmember Carlie Jones, Forest Hills, Texas

President-elect:         Councilmember Russel C. Neal Jr., Akron, Ohio 

1st Vice President:     Councilmember Sharon Hurt, Nashville, Tennessee

2nd Vice President:     Councilmember Angelia Graves, Norfolk, Virginia 


HELO serves as a peer network for Latino and Hispanic municipal officials. HELO officers (elected for one year):

President:                   Councilmember David Luna, Mesa, Arizona 

1st Vice President:     Council President Aidee Nieves, Bridgeport, Connecticut

2nd Vice President:     Councilmember Yolanda Trout-Manuel, Auburn, Washington 


WIMG seeks to raise awareness about issues of concern to women and encourages women to seek public office in their communities. New WIMG officers (elected for one year): 

President:                  Mayor Pro Tempore Lindsey Horvath, West Hollywood, California

1st Vice President:    Vice Mayor Wally Campbell, Goodyear, Arizona

2nd Vice President:    Mayor Elizabeth Carr-Hurst, Fairburn, Georgia


APAMO provides Asian Pacific American municipal officials and their colleagues with a forum to share ideas and develop leadership experience. APAMO officers (elected for one year):

President:              Mayor Lily Mei, Fremont, California

Vice President:     Councilmember Benny Lee, San Leandro, California


LGBTLO was formed to encourage the active involvement of gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender and queer municipal officials and their supporters in the organization and programs of the NLC. LGBTLO officers (elected for one year):

President:                  Vice Mayor Tom Green, Wilton Manors, Florida

1st Vice President:    Mayor Jeffrey Zane Slavin, Somerset, Maryland

2nd Vice President:    Councilmember Victor Aguilar, Jr., San Leandro, California


For more information on NLC’s constituency groups, visit


The National League of Cities (NLC) is the voice of America’s cities, towns and villages, representing more than 200 million people across the country. NLC works to strengthen local leadership, influence federal policy and drive innovative solutions. Stay connected with NLC on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn and Instagram.