National League of Cities Announces 2019 Leadership and Board of Directors

November 10, 2018 - (3 min read)

LOS ANGELES — November 10, 2019 — Today at the 2018 City Summit in Los Angeles, the National League of Cities (NLC) elected the organization’s 2019 leadership and board of directors. NLC’s officers and leaders provide strategic direction and guidance for NLC’s federal advocacy, governance and membership activities throughout the year. NLC is the largest and most representative organization for cities, their elected leaders and municipal staff, and advocates for city priorities in Washington by building strong federal-local partnerships.

“At a time marked by division, it is more important than ever for city leaders to come together for the good of our residents, and for the future of our country,” said National League of Cities (NLC) President Karen Freeman-Wilson, mayor of Gary, Indiana. “It is an honor to lead the National League of Cities as we raise our collective voice on the issues that matter to the residents in our communities. Together, we can make real change happen in our nation’s cities.”

NLC Officers (nominated for a one-year term):

  • President: Karen Freeman-Wilson, mayor, Gary, Indiana
  • First Vice President: Joe Buscaino, councilmember, Los Angeles, California
  • Second Vice President: Kathy Maness, councilmember, Lexington, South Carolina
  • NLC Immediate Past President: Mark Stodola, mayor, Little Rock, Arkansas

Board of Directors (nominated for a two-year term):

  • Joel Navarro, councilmember, Tempe, Arizona
  • Wayne Messam, mayor, Miramar, Florida
  • Deana Holiday Ingraham, mayor, East Point, Georgia
  • Chasity Wells-Armstrong, mayor, Kankakee, Illinois
  • Patrick Wojahn, mayor, College Park, Maryland
  • Angelia Washington, councilmember, Jacksonville, North Carolina
  • Steve Patterson, mayor, Athens, Ohio
  • Greg Evans, councilmember, Eugene, Oregon
  • Andy Berke, mayor, Chattanooga, Tennessee
  • John Kinnaird, councilmember, Waco, Texas
  • Rebecca Viagran, councilmember, San Antonio, Texas
  • Sean Polster, councilmember, Warrenton, Virginia
  • Steve Williams, mayor, Huntington, West Virginia

Board of Directors (nominated for a one-year term):

  • Amanda Edwards, councilmember, Houston, Texas
  • Brent Jaramillo, councilor, Questa, New Mexico
  • Harold Perrin, mayor, Jonesboro, Arkansas
  • Gary Resnick, mayor, Wilton Manors, Florida

State Municipal League Executive Directors:

  • Mike Fina, Oklahoma Municipal League
  • Paul Meyer, North Carolina League of Municipalities
  • Kent Scarrett, Ohio Municipal League
  • Dave Unmacht, League of Minnesota Cities

Federal Advocacy Chairs:

  • Robin Arredondo-Savage, councilmember, Tempe, Arizona (Human Development)
  • Chris Brown, controller, Houston, Texas (Finance, Administration and Intergovernmental Relations)
  • James McDonald, councilmember, Pinecrest, Florida (Transportation and Infrastructure Services)
  • Laurie-Anne Sayles, councilmember, Gaithersburg, Maryland (Community and Economic Development)
  • Stephanie Piko, mayor, Centennial, Colorado (Information Technology and Communications)
  • Hattie Portis-Jones, councilmember, Fairburn, Georgia (Energy, Environment and Natural Resources)
  • Roxanne Thalman, councilmember, Arlington, Texas (Public Safety and Crime Prevention)


The National League of Cities (NLC) is the voice of America’s cities, towns and villages, representing more than 200 million people across the country. NLC works to strengthen local leadership, influence federal policy and drive innovative solutions. Stay connected with NLC on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn and Instagram.