About LGBTQ+ Local Officials

One of NLC’s six constituency groups, the LGBTQ+ Local Officials (LGBTQ+LO) group encourages the active involvement and participation of Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer municipal officials and provides a forum to network and share best practices.  

LGBTQ+LO is a caucus within NLC that provides municipal officials who identify and ally with the LGBTQ+LO community to connect with their colleagues in a forum to share ideas and develop leadership experience. 

Established in 1993, LGBTQ+LO serves as a vehicle for members to discuss problems and explore solutions, debate policy issues, and contribute to the success of American cities and towns such as discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation and the disproportionate impact of the pandemic on the  LGBTQ+ community. The group meets twice a year in person and hosts a variety of webinars and programs throughout the year.  

The LGBTQ+LO Board of Directors is elected every two years at NLC’s City Summit by the group’s membership. For information about Board nominations and an application form, see the membership section below.  


Become a member of LGBTQ+LO. Click ‘Join Now’ for information about Board nominations and an application form.

About NLC Constituency Groups

NLC Constituency Groups give local elected officials a space to express themselves and advocate for the needs of their community. They reflect the diverse interests and backgrounds of NLC members and contribute to leadership development, policy formulation, advocacy and program activities.