Board of Advisors & Leadership Fellows

About the Board of Advisors

This small group of advisors provides strategic advice on key priorities and opportunities for NLC University. In addition, this Board of Advisors helps NLC cultivate new strategic partnerships, connect with new audiences, develop new content, and engage with members in new formats.


About the Leadership Fellows

Up to 25 champions of education and training for municipal leaders are selected each year as Leadership Fellows.  These Fellows promote NLC University offerings; cultivate leaders within the organization; strengthen peer networking and support among leaders committed to professional development and lifelong learning; increase connections to state municipal league educational programming; field-test new educational platforms or learning models; and provide feedback on the overall program. Also includes:

  • Outreach to colleagues to promote NLC University offerings.
  • Cultivation of leaders within the organization.
  • Peer networking & support among leaders committed to professional development & lifelong learning.
  • Increasing connections to state municipal league educational programming.
  • Field testing new educational platforms or learning models.
  • Providing feedback on the overall program.
NLC University Board of Advisors
  • David BakerMayor, Kenmore, Washington
  • Julie BoslandAssociate Director for Public Sector Innovation, Living Cities
  • Neil BrittoExecutive Director, The Intersector Project
  • Paul CampbellSenior Advisor, Fels Institute of Government, University of Pennsylvania
  • Malcom ChapmanPresident, The Chapman Group
  • Rap HankinsCouncil Member, City of Trotwood, Ohio
  • Natalie Houghtby-HaddonAssociate Director, The George Washington University Center for Excellence in Public Leadership
  • R. Michael Kasperzak, Jr. , Council Member, Mountain View, California
  • Rick AronhaltDirector, Online Programs and Product Enhancement, ICMA
  • Bill TippinDM, CMC Professor Management & Transformation , Webster University
  • Lynn TiptonDirector of Membership Development, Florida League of Cities
  • Frank ZerunyanMayor, Rolling Hills Estates, CaliforniaSenior Fellow and Director of Executive Education, Sol Price School of Public Policy, USC
2019 NLC University Leadership Fellows
  • Jason Ashmore, Mayor, Sesser, Illinois
  • David Baker, Mayor, Kenmore, Washington
  • Wally Campbell, Council Member, Goodyear, Arizona
  • Maurice Cheeks, Alderman, Madison, Wisconsin
  • Sonja Fillingame, City Manager, Union City, Georgia
  • John Fogle, Councilmember, Loveland, Colorado
  • Joseph Goldstein, Councilman, Marietta, Georgia
  • Rik Hayman, Chief of Staff, Burton, Michigan
  • Deana Holiday Ingraham, Mayor, East Point, Georgia
  • Elizabeth Hurst, Mayor, Fairburn, Georgia
  • Velma Johnson, Councilor, Midfield, Alabama
  • Richard Madison, Staff Attorney, Bryant, Arkansas
  • LaWana Mayfield, Council-Member, Charlotte, North Carolina
  • James Mitchell, Councilmember, Charlotte, North Carolina
  • Carolyn Mozell, Chief of Staff, Baltimore, Maryland
  • Julie Mulica, Councilmember, City of Northglenn
  • David Morrison, Prairie Village, Kansas
  • Hattie Portis-Jones, Mayor Pro Tem, Fairburn, Georgia
  • David Sander, Council Member, Rancho Cordova, California
  • Mickey Sandifer, City Councilmember, Shawnee, Kansas
  • Karl Skala, Councilmember, Columbia, Missouri 
  • George Thomas, Councilman, Meridian, Mississippi
  • Jeff Weisensel, Council Member, Rosemount, Minnesota
  • Chasity Wells-Armstrong, Mayor, Kankakee, Illinois
  • Vince Williams, Mayor, Union City, Georgia