Search for New NLC Executive Director Now Underway

As announced in May, NLC Executive Director Donald J. Borut will retire at the end of this year, after serving 22 years in the position. The search for a new NLC executive director is now underway.

Russell Reynolds Associates has been selected as the executive search firm to guide the search for the new NLC executive director.

Russell Reynolds has been working closely with the NLC Executive Director Search Committee, chaired by NLC President Ted Ellis, (see list of Search Committee members below) and has solicited additional input from a broad spectrum of NLC leaders and stakeholders to gain their perspectives on NLC, its future, and the desired skills and attributes of the next executive director. The NLC executive director job specification has been prepared based on this valuable input.

"We are enthusiastic about the search for NLC's next executive director, as this is a truly historic time of great change for this organization," said NLC President Ted Ellis.  

Russell Reynolds is now beginning the search for candidates and is serving as the point of contact for requests for information, candidate recommendations, and/or expressions of interest. NLC hopes to wrap up the search process before the Congress of Cities and Exposition to be held in Boston, November 28 - December 1.

Details: Individuals interested in applying for the NLC executive director position or recommending a candidate for consideration, are asked to contact Stephanie Tomasso at Russell Reynolds directly by October 1. She can be reached at 202-654-7852 or

2012 NLC Executive Director Search Committee

Ted Ellis, Mayor, Bluffton, Indiana, NLC President, CHAIR
Marie Lopez Rogers, Mayor, Avondale Arizona, NLC First Vice President
Chris Coleman, Mayor, St. Paul, Minnesota, NLC Second Vice President
Carl Brewer, Mayor, Witchita Kansas, NLC Board Member
Debbie Quinn, Council Member, Fairhope, Alabama, Advisory Council Chair
Bernita Sims, Council Member, High Pointe, North Carolina, NLC Board Member
Matthew Greller, Executive Director, Indiana Association of Cities and Towns
Christopher McKenzie, Executive Director, League of California Cities
Michael Sittig, Executive Director, Florida League of Cities