NLC President Honors Congressional Champions of Local Issues

Image removed.

On April 21, NLC President Melodee Colbert-Kean visited Capitol Hill to honor (clockwise from top left) Senator Barbara Boxer (CA), Congressman Peter DeFazio (OR), Senator James Inhofe (OK), and Congressman Bill Shuster (PA) with the NLC President's Award for their hard work on the FAST Act five-year transportation bill.

The NLC President's Award recognizes the accomplishments of individuals and organizations who have made significant contributions to cities and towns as centers of opportunity, innovation, and leadership; and who have displayed outstanding commitment to improving the intergovernmental partnership.

The FAST Act, which provides long-term funding certainty for our nation's transportation network and puts more money in the hands of local leaders, would not have been possible without the commitment and dedication of Senate Environment and Public Works Committee Chairman Inhofe and Ranking Member Boxer, and House Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure Chairman Shuster and Ranking Member DeFazio. NLC is grateful for their efforts, and is proud to add them to a list of President's Award recipients that includes Congressman Steve Womack (AR) and Mayor Marie Lopez Rogers, of Avondale, Arizona.

Image removed.

During her visit, President Colbert-Kean also met with U.S. Department of Transportation Deputy Secretary Victor Mendez to discuss Secretary Foxx's recent announcement of three guiding principles that will bring a new focus to equity and local control of our transportation network. In the meeting, President Colbert-Kean pledged NLC's full support to the initiative. At NLC, we look forward to building upon these principles and ensuring that decisions about how to spend transportation dollars in our cities are made in our cities.