National League of Cities Recognizes Long-Time Staff for Service to Cities

Press Release
Press Release

BOSTON, MA - At its annual Congress of Cities conference in Boston, MA this year, the National League of Cities (NLC) presented its John G. Stutz award to individuals who have served a total of 25 years of more on the staff of a state municipal league, state league risk pool, or NLC.

The award has been given each year since 1981 to recognize the contributions of long-time league staff members and is presented at the Congress of Cities during the annual conference.

The award is named in honor of John G. Stutz, who convened representatives of ten state municipal leagues in 1924 in Lawrence, Kansas for the first meeting of what was to become the American Municipal Association, and subsequently the National League of Cities. At that time, Mr. Stutz was the Executive Secretary (League Director) of the League of Kansas Municipalities.

This year, NLC honored 5 individuals with the Stutz Award, who have completed 25 years or more of service. All honorees will have their names added to a memorial plaque at NLC headquarters.

The honorees are:

• Sheryll Lipscomb
• Lori Sander
• Kevin Maloney
• Ron Thomas
• Carolyn Stager-Strecker

The National League of Cities is dedicated to helping city leaders build better communities. NLC is a resource and advocate for 19,000 cities, towns and villages, representing more than 218 million Americans.

Related Topics