Local Officials Join First Lady Michelle Obama to Celebrate Efforts to Reduce Childhood Obesity through Let’s Move! Cities, Towns and Counties

Press Release
Press Release

Washington, D.C. - On Wednesday, First Lady Michelle Obama will host local elected officials from communities across the country at the White House, to celebrate their outstanding efforts to address childhood obesity over the past year through Let's Move! Cities, Towns and Counties (LMCTC).

LMCTC calls upon local elected officials to adopt sustainable and holistic strategies that improve access to healthy, affordable food and opportunities for physical activity.

"We appreciate the White House hosting us tomorrow. The support and energy of the First Lady has been incredibly important to reducing the obesity epidemic facing our communities," said National League of Cities' Executive Director, Clarence Anthony. He continued, "We congratulate all the local elected officials participating in the event and who are playing an instrumental role in providing our nation's children with a healthier future. When children grow up in cities, towns and counties that promote healthy development, they become productive and healthy adults, contributing to the prosperity of our communities."

NLC works in partnership with the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, and with the support of the U.S. Department of Agriculture, the National Association of Counties and other nonprofit organizations, to assist local elected officials who join LMCTC as they implement policy and environmental changes to prevent childhood obesity. The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation has awarded NLC a grant to provide technical assistance to local elected officials working to create healthier communities and prevent childhood obesity, including sites participating in LMCTC.

The First Lady's remarks will be open to press, but space is limited. Members of the media who wish to cover this event must RSVP to firstladypress@who.eop.gov by 12PM ET, Tuesday, July 9.

Speakers at Wednesday's celebratory event will include: Sam Kass, Executive Director of Let's Move! and Senior Policy Advisor on Nutrition; David Agnew, Deputy Assistant to the President and Director of Intergovernmental Affairs; Dr. Howard K. Koh, Assistant Secretary for Health, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services; and Clarence Anthony, Executive Director, National League of Cities. A panel comprised of Hernando, Miss. Mayor Chip Johnson; Chester, Penn. Mayor John Linder; Knoxville Tenn. Mayor Madeline Rogero; and Missoula County, Mont. Commissioner Jean Curtiss will discuss their local LMCTC successes and accomplishments. Mayor Nancy Chaney from Moscow, Idaho will introduce the First Lady.

The local elected officials participating in the event are:

  • Rick Elumbaugh, Mayor, Batesville, AR
  • Beth White, Alderman, Ward One, North Little Rock, AR 
  • Bob Jackson, Mayor, Casa Grande, AZ 
  • Acquanetta Warren, Mayor, Fontana, CA 
  • Michael Gomez, Mayor Pro Tem, Hawaiian Gardens, CA 
  • L. Dennis Michael, Mayor, Rancho Cucamonga, CA 
  • Bob Murphy, Mayor, Lakewood, CO
  • Hanifa G.N. Shabazz, Council Member, Wilmington, DE 
  • John Adornato III, Mayor, Oakland Park, FL 
  • Joan Garner, County Commissioner, District 6, Fulton County, GA
  • Cris Eaton Welsh, Mayor Pro Tem, Kennesaw, GA 
  • Vince Williams, Mayor Pro Tem, Union City, GA 
  • Nancy Chaney, Mayor, Moscow, ID
  • Rick Skinner, Mayor, Williamstown, KY 
  • Rodney Grogan, Mayor, Patterson, LA
  • Arlanda Williams, Council Chairwoman, Terrebonne Parish, LA 
  • Setti Warren, Mayor, Newton, MA 
  • Nick Mosby, Councilman, District 7, Baltimore, MD 
  • Brenda Lawrence, Mayor, Southfield, MI 
  • Don Reimal, Mayor, Independence, MO
  • Tommie Brown, Mayor, Alligator, MS 
  • Mechelle Wallace, Elected Alderman, Alligator, MS 
  • Chip Johnson, Mayor, Hernando, MS 
  • Jean Curtiss, Missoula County Commissioner, Missoula, MT
  • Terry M. Bellamy, Mayor, Asheville, NC 
  • Christopher Beutler, Mayor, Lincoln, NE
  • Lizette Parker, Councilwoman, Teaneck, NJ 
  • David A. Michael, Mayor, Sabina, OH 
  • John Linder, Mayor, Chester, PA 
  • C. Kim Bracey, Mayor, York, PA
  • Lisa Sulka, Mayor, Bluffton, SC 
  • Tameika Isaac Devine, Councilwoman, Columbia, SC 
  • Julie-Ann Dixon, Councilmember, District 9, Richland County, SC
  • Jerry Gist, Mayor, Jackson, TN 
  • Madeline Rogero, Mayor, Knoxville, TN 
  • Dr. Alan B. Coleman, Councilmember, Ward 1, Beaumont, TX 
  • Kristin Szakos, Vice Mayor, Charlottesville, VA 
  • Joan Foster, Councilwoman, Lynchburg, VA
  • David Baker, Mayor, Kenmore, WA

A total of 330 cities, towns and counties from 46 states and the District of Columbia, which collectively represent more than 56 million Americans, have committed to the initiative's five goals. NLC has awarded more than 1,000 bronze, silver and gold "medals" to recognize local elected officials who have made progress in achieving these goals.

For more information about the LMCTC initiative, its accomplishments, and how local elected officials can sign up, visit: www.HealthyCommunitiesHealthyFuture.org.

The National League of Cities is dedicated to helping city leaders build better communities. NLC is a resource and advocate for 19,000 cities, towns and villages, representing more than 218 million Americans.

Related Topics