Councilmember Priscilla Tyson Elected President of the National Black Caucus of Local Elected Officials

Press Release
Press Release

Nashville, Tenn.—Councilmember Priscilla Tyson of Columbus, Ohio was elected the 2016 president of the National Black Caucus of Local Elected Officials (NBC-LEO) constituency group during the group's annual membership meeting at the National League of Cities' (NLC) Congress of Cities & Exposition in Nashville, Tenn.

Other officers elected during the NBC-LEO meeting include:

President-Elect: Hanifa Shabazz, councilmember, Wilmington, Del.
1st Vice President: Wayne Messam, mayor, Miramar, Fla.
2nd Vice President: De'Keither Stamps, councilmember, Jackson, Miss.
Secretary: Lavonta Williams, councilmember, Wichita, Kan.
Treasurer: Jacobia Dowell, councilmember, Nashville, Tenn.
Assistant Treasurer: Jack Sims, councilmember, District Heights, Md.
Parliamentarian: Erica Gilmore, Councilmember, Nashville-Davidson, Tenn.
Historian: David Reddick, councilmember, Anniston, Ala.
Chaplain: Samuel Ings, commissioner, Orlando, Fla.

Dr. James Walls, Jr., mayor of District Heights, Md. will be the group's immediate past president.

Other board members include:

Past Presidents:

  • Adam McFadden, councilmember of Rochester, N.Y.
  • Jacquelyn Johnson, councilmember, East Orange, N.J.
  • Deborah Denard Delgado, councilmember, Hattiesburg, Miss.
  • Audwin Samuel, councilmember, Beaumont, Texas
  • Felicia Moore, councilmember, Atlanta, Ga.
  • Marian Tasco, councilmember, Philadelphia, Pa.

At-Large Board Members:

  • Daniel Brown, councilmember, Knoxville, Tenn.
  • Dejerilyn King Henderson, councilmember, Troy, Ala.
  • Brigette Mathis, councilmember, Forest Hill, Texas 

Regional Directors:

Region 2: (Pennsylvania, New York, New Jersey)

  • Romal Bullock, councilmember, East Orange, N.J.

Region 3: (Kentucky, West Virginia, Virginia, Maryland, District of Columbia, Delaware)

  • Jasmine Gore, councilmember, Hopewell, Va.

Region 4: (Ohio, Indiana)

  • Russel Neal, Jr., councilmember, Akron, Ohio

Region 6: (Illinois)

  • Michael Rogers, trustee, Maywood, Ill.

Region 8: (Missouri, Iowa, Nebraska, Kansas, Colorado)

  • Louvenia Mathison, councilmember, Berkeley, Mo.

Region 11: (New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas)

  • Erik Wilson, deputy mayor pro-tem, Dallas, Texas

Region 13: (Louisiana)

  • Anthony Daisy, mayor pro tem, New Roads, La.

Region 14: (Mississippi)

  • Joyce Mathis, alderman, Natchez, Miss.

Region 15: (Alabama)

  • Cleophus King, councilmember, Bessemer, Ala.

Region 16: (Georgia)

  • Dr. Estella Edwards Shabazz, alderwoman, Savannah, Ga.

Region 17: (South Carolina)

  • Edward Robinson, Jr., councilmember, Florence, S.C.

Region 18: (North Carolina)

  • LaWana Mayfield, councilmember, Charlotte, N.C.

Region 19: (Florida)

  • Philip Walker, commissioner, Lakeland, Fla.

NBC-LEO was created in 1970 to represent the interests of African American elected officials within NLC. The organization strives to increase African American participation on NLC steering and policy committees to ensure policy and program recommendations reflect African American concerns and benefit their communities.

The National League of Cities (NLC) is dedicated to helping city leaders build better communities. NLC is a resource and advocate for 19,000 cities, towns and villages, representing more than 218 million Americans.


Related Topics