Asian Pacific American Municipal Officials (APAMO)

Asian Pacific American Municipal Officials (APAMO) is a constituency group whose mission is to provide Asian Pacific American municipal officials and their colleagues with a forum to share ideas and develop leadership experience.


It also serves as a vehicle for members to discuss problems and explore solutions, debate policy issues, and contribute to the success of American cities and towns.  APAMO members are eager to share their experiences in government with other Asian Pacific Americans and local officials.  The group was established within the National League of Cities in 1985.

2018 Board of Directors

The APAMO Board of Directors is elected every two years at NLC's Congressional City Conference in March by the group's membership. Members are encouraged to submit their nominations for service on the Board.  For information about Board nominations and an application form, see the section below about membership and sponsorship opportunities. 


Vice President

Immediate Past President

Polly Low


Doris McConnell

Polly Low
Rosemead, California

Sean Polster
Warrenton, Virginia
Doris McConnell
Shoreline, Washington
Board Roster

APAMO 2018 Board of Directors
Polly Low, Mayor, Rosemead, California (President)
Sean Polster, At-large Councilmember, Warrenton, Virginia (Vice-President)
Stephen K. Sham, Vice Mayor, Alhambra, California (Treasurer)
Benny Lee, Councilmember, San Leandro, California (Secretary)
Doris McConnell, Councilmember, Shoreline, Washington (Immediate Past President)

At-Large Board Members:
Chin Ho Liao, Mayor, San Gabriel, California
Rishi Kumar, Councilmember, Saratoga, California 
Conrad Lee, Councilmember, Bellevue, Washington
Lily Mei, Mayor, Fremont, California
P.C. Wu, Councilmember, Pensacola, Florida


APAMO welcomes new and returning members each year.  The easiest way to join APAMO is by paying annual dues at the City Summit annual conference.  Information about joining is available in our membership brochure

To join, please complete the membership application and send it to