

PAST PRESIDENTS OF THE NATIONAL LEAGUE OF CITIES

(titles noted are those held when elected as NLC President)

2022	Mayor Vince Williams, Union City, GA	
------	--------------------------------------	--

- 2021 Councilmember Kathy Maness, Lexington, SC
- 2020 Councilmember Joe Buscaino, Los Angeles, CA
- 2019 Mayor Karen Freeman-Wilson, Gary, IN
- 2018 Mayor Mark Stodola, Little Rock, AR
- 2017 **Councilmember Matt Zone**, Cleveland, OH
- 2016 Councilmember Melode Colbert-Kean, Joplin, MO
- 2015 Mayor Ralph Becker, Salt Lake City, UT
- 2014 Mayor Christopher Coleman, Saint Paul, MN
- 2013 Mayor Marie Lopez Rogers, Avondale, AZ
- 2012 Mayor Ted Ellis, Bluffton, IN
- 2011 **Councilmember James Mitchell, Jr.**, Charlotte, NC
- 2010 Mayor Ronald O. Loveridge, Riverside, CA
- 2009 Mayor Kathleen Novak, Northglenn, CO
- 2008 **Councilmember Cynthia McCollum**, Madison, AL
- 2007 Mayor Bart Peterson, Indianapolis, IN
- 2006 Councilmember James C. Hunt, Clarksburg, WV
- 2005 Mayor Anthony A. Williams, Washington, DC
- 2004 Selectman Charles Lyons, Arlington, MA
- 2003 Mayor John DeStefano, Jr., New Haven, CT
- 2002 Mayor Karen J. Anderson, Minnetonka, MN
- 2001 Mayor Dennis W. Archer, Detroit, MI
- 2000 Mayor Bob Knight, Wichita, KS
- 1999 Mayor Clarence E. Anthony, South Bay, FL
- 1998 Councilman Brian J. O'Neill, Philadelphia, PA
- 1997 Councilmember Mark Schwartz, Oklahoma City, OK
- 1996 Mayor Gregory S. Lashutka, Columbus, OH
- 1995 Councilwoman-at-Large Carolyn Long Banks, Atlanta, GA
- 1994 Mayor Sharpe James, Newark, NJ
- 1993 Mayor Donald M. Fraser, Minneapolis, MN
- 1992 Commissioner Glenda E. Hood, Orlando, FL



- 1991 Mayor Sidney Barthelemy, New Orleans, LA
- 1990 Mayor Bob Bolen, Fort Worth, TX
- 1989 Mayor Terry Goddard, Phoenix, AZ
- 1988 Councilor Pamela P. Plumb, Portland, ME
- 1987 Councilwoman-at-Large Cathy Reynolds, Denver, CO
- 1986 Mayor Henry G. Cisneros, San Antonio, TX
- 1985 Mayor George V. Voinovich, Cleveland, OH
- 1984 Mayor George Latimer, St. Paul, MN
- 1983 Mayor Charles Royer, Seattle, WA
- 1982 Mayor Ferd L. Harrison, Scotland Neck, NC
- 1981 Mayor William H. Hudnut, III, Indianapolis, IN
- 1980 Councilwoman Jessie M. Rattley, Newport News, VA
- 1979 Mayor John P. Rousakis, Savannah, GA
- 1978 **Mayor Tom Moody**, Columbus, OH
- 1977 Council Member Phyllis Lamphere, Seattle, WA
- 1976 Mayor Hans G. Tanzler, Jacksonville, FL
- 1975 Mayor Carlos Romero Barcelo, San Juan, PR
- 1975 Mayor Jake Garn, Salt Lake City, UT (honorary for 1st 2 months of 1975)
- 1974 Mayor Tom Bradley, Los Angeles, CA
- 1973 Mayor Roman S. Gribbs, Detroit, MI
- 1972 Mayor Sam Massell, Atlanta, GA
- 1971 Mayor Richard G. Lugar, Indianapolis, IN
- 1970 Mayor Frank Curran, San Diego, CA
- 1969 Mayor Beverly Briley, Nashville, TN
- 1968 Mayor James H. J. Tate, Philadelphia, PA
- 1967 Mayor Harold M. Tollefson, Tacoma, WA
- 1966 Mayor Jerome P. Cavanagh, Detroit, MI
- 1965 Mayor Henry W. Maier, Milwaukee, WI
- 1964 Mayor John F. Collins, Boston, MA
- 1963 Mayor Lewis Cutrer, Houston, TX
- 1962 Mayor Gordon S. Clinton, Seattle, WA (1/62-8/62)
- 1962 Mayor Richardson Dilworth, Philadelphia, PA (8/61-1/62)
- 1961 Mayor Don Hummel, Tucson, AZ



960	Mayor Raymond R. Tucker, St. Louis, MO
-----	--

- 1959 Mayor Anthony J. Celebrezze, Cleveland, OH
- 1958 Mayor George Christopher, San Francisco, CA
- 1957 Mayor Ben West, Nashville, TN
- 1956 Mayor Robert F. Wagner, Jr., New York, NY
- 1955 Mayor Allen C. Thompson, Jackson, MS
- 1954 Mayor William E. Kemp, Kansas City, MO
- 1953 Mayor William B. Hartsfield, Atlanta, GA
- 1952 Mayor A. E. Cobo, Detroit, MI
- 1951 Mayor William F. Devin, Seattle, WA
- 1950 Mayor Quigg Newton, Denver, CO
- 1949 Mayor DeLesseps S. Morrison, New Orleans, LA
- 1948 Mayor Fletcher Bowron, Los Angeles, California
- 1947 Mayor Woodall Rodgers, Dallas, Texas
- 1946 Mayor R. E. Riley, Portland, Oregon
- 1945 Mayor Wilson W. Wyatt, Louisville, Kentucky
- 1944 Herbert A. Olson, Michigan Municipal League
- 1943 Mayor Charles E. Lee, Decatur, Illinois
- 1941-42 **E. E. McAdams**, League of Texas Municipalities
 - 1940 **Richard Graves**, League of California Cities
 - 1939 **C. C. Ludwig**, League of Minnesota Cities
 - 1938 Morton L. Wallerstein, League of Virginia Municipalities
 - 1937 **City Manager Andrew Joyner**, Jr., Greensboro, North Carolina
 - 1936 John G. Stutz, League of Kansas Municipalities
 - 1935 William P. Capes, New York State Conference of Mayors
 - 1934 Harold D. Smith, Michigan Municipal League
- 1933 **Frederick N. MacMillin**, League of Wisconsin Municipalities
- 1930-32 Sedley H. Phinney, New Jersey State League of Municipalities
 - 1930 Harvey W. Draper, League of Texas Municipalities
 - 1929 Don C. Sowers, Colorado Municipal League
 - 1928 **A. D. McLarty**, Illinois Municipal League
 - 1927 Morton L. Wallerstein, League of Virginia Municipalities
- 1924-26 Morris B. Lambrie, League of Minnesota Cities

Updated: June 15th, 2023