Building Equitable Pathways to Postsecondary and Workforce Success

Postsecondary Workforce Success
Postsecondary Workforce Success

Congratulations to the six cities chosen to take part in the Technical Assistance Cohort along with their respective partners: Austin, Texas (City of Austin, Austin Community College, Austin Chamber of Commerce); Charleston, South Carolina (City of Charleston, Charleston Metro Chamber of Commerce, Trident Technical College); Corpus Christi, Texas (City of Corpus Christi/Citizens for Educational Excellence, Del Mar College, United Corpus Christi Chamber of Commerce); Houston, Texas (City of Houston, Greater Houston Partnership, Houston Independent School District); Jacksonville, Florida (City of Jacksonville, Florida State College at Jacksonville, JAX Chamber); and Nashville, Tennessee (Metro Nashville-Davidson County, Nashville State Community College, Nashville Area Chamber of Commerce).

These six cities will be working to build equitable pathways to postsecondary and workforce success through 2017. We will be posting updates as the work progresses.

Project Overview

12 cities will have an opportunity to be part of a cohort that NLC will work with intensely to build and scale innovative ideas in implementing equitable pathways to postsecondary and workforce success. The efforts of these cities will be documented and shared out nationally enabling other cities to explore sustainable solutions for their own local communities and economies.

The National League of Cities, Institute for Youth, Education, and Families is embarking on a two year body of work that will address a key challenge facing cities- ensuring all residents have access and support to earn industry valued certificates and degrees with the ultimate goal of gaining meaningful employment. Cities have been asked to make a commitment to building equitable pathways to higher education and workforce opportunities. Twelve cities have been selected to kick-off these efforts. The 12 cities below will meet in Washington D.C. in December to share ideas and strategies as well as engage with national experts. Each city will leave with a plan to implement, build and or scale efforts in their city to improve equity in certificate and degree attainment as well as workforce success.

The 12 cities are: 

  • Austin, Texas
  • Charleston, South Carolina
  • Columbus, Georgia
  • Columbus, Ohio
  • Corpus Christi, Texas
  • Dayton, Ohio
  • El Paso, Texas
  • Houston, Texas
  • Jacksonville, Florida
  • Nashville Tennessee
  • San Antonio, Texas
  • South Bend, Indiana

Continue to visit this site to stay up-to-date on each cities work.