NLC Elects 2015 Leadership and Board of Directors

The National League of Cities recently named its 2015 leadership and board of directors at the annual Congress of Cities and Exposition in Austin, Texas. The organization elected Mayor Ralph Becker of Salt Lake City, Utah to serve as NLC's 2015 president, Councilmember Melodee Colbert Kean of Joplin, Mo. as first vice president, and Councilman Matt Zone of Cleveland, Ohio as second vice president.

All officers are selected by a 15-member nominating committee and are elected by NLC's membership to serve a one-year term. NLC's 2014 president, Mayor Chris Coleman, will serve as the organization's immediate past president.

14 elected officials and four state municipal league director will serve a two-year term:

  •     Matthew Appelbaum, mayor, Boulder, Colo.
  •     Wally Campbell, councilmember, Goodyear, Ariz.
  •     Dennis Doyle, mayor, Beaverton, Ore.
  •     Jasmine Gore, vice mayor, Hopewell, Va.
  •     Elvi Gray-Jackson, assembly member, Anchorage, Alaska
  •     Mary Hamann-Roland, mayor, Apple Valley, Minn.
  •     Klaus Hanson, councilmember, Laramie, Wy.
  •     Michael Kasperzak, councilmember, Mountain View, Calif.
  •     Kathy Maness, town council, Lexington, S.C.
  •     Thomas McCarthy, council president, Bridgeport, Conn.
  •     Bill Peloza, councilmember, Auburn, Wash.
  •     Jermaine Reed, councilmember, Kansas City, Mo.
  •     Michael Sesma, councilmember, Gaithersburg, Md.
  •     P.C. Wu, councilmember, Pensacola, Fla.
  •     Matt Greller, executive director, Indiana Association of Cities and Towns
  •     Alan Kemp, executive director, Iowa League of Cities
  •     Lamar Norton, executive director, Georgia Municipal League
  •     Bennett Sandlin, executive director, Texas Municipal League

One elected official will serve a one-year term:

  • Leland Cheung, city councilor, Cambridge, Mass.