NLC Elects 2014 Leadership and Board of Directors

The National League of Cities elected Mayor Chris Coleman of Saint Paul, Minn. to serve as NLC’s 2014 President at the Congress of Cities and Exposition in Seattle, Wash. last week. NLC also named its 2014 Officers and Board of Directors.

Mayor Coleman has been an NLC Board Member since 2010 and served as Chair of its Council on Youth, Education and Families in 2008. As President, Mayor Coleman will play a key role in shaping NLC’s priorities and directing the organization’s advocacy, education, research and membership activities.

Mayor Ralph Becker of Salt Lake City, Utah will serve as First Vice President, and Mayor Melodee Colbert Kean of Joplin, Mo. will be NLC’s new Second Vice President.

All officers are selected by a 15-member nominating committee and are elected by NLC’s membership to serve a one-year term. NLC’s 2013 president, Mayor Marie Lopez Rogers of Avondale, Ariz., will serve as the organization’s immediate past president.

NLC also elected new members of the board of directors to serve a two-year term:

  • Tennell Atkins, mayor pro tem, Dallas, Texas
  • Ricki Barlow, councilman, Las Vegas, Nev.
  • Joe Buscaino, councilman, Los Angeles, Calif.
  • Mary Cameron, councilmember, Clemmons, N.C.
  • Sam Ferreri, mayor, Greenacres, Fla.
  • Ronald Green, city controller, Houston, Texas
  • Elizabeth Hurst, councilwoman, Fairburn, Ga.
  • Van Johnson, mayor pro tem, Savannah, Ga.
  • Kevin Kramer, councilman, Louisville, Ky.
  • Dot LaMarche, vice mayor, Farragut, Tenn.
  • Pat Lockwood, councilwoman, Fenton, Mich.
  • Jesse Matthews, councilmember, Bessemer, Ala.
  • Gene McGee, mayor, Ridgeland, Texas
  • Joe Moore, alderman, Chicago, Ill.
  • David Sander, councilmember, Rancho Cordova, Calif.
  • Mark Stodola, mayor, Little Rock, Ark.
  • Betty Taylor, city councilor, Eugene, Ore.
  • Priscilla Tyson, councilwoman, Columbus, Ohio
  • Scott Hancock, Maryland Municipal League
  • Alan Kemp, Iowa League of Cities
  • Christopher Lockwood, Maine Municipal, Maine Municipal Association
  • Sam Mamet, Colorado Municipal League
  • Ken Strobeck, League of Arizona Cities and Towns