NBC-LEO Appoints Judges for the City Cultural Diversity Awards Program

Press Release
Press Release

The National Black Caucus of Local Elected Officials (NBC-LEO) has announced the judges for the annual 2014 City Cultural Diversity Awards.  

The City Cultural Diversity Awards Program showcases examples of how cities achieve excellence in diversity. The awards are given to honor community leadership in developing creative and effective programs to improve cultural diversity.

This year, the City Cultural Diversity Awards Program Committee will be chaired by NBC-LEO President-Elect James Walls, mayor, District Heights, Maryland.

“This awards program provides a wonderful forum each year for learning about the innovative ideas that cities across the country are implementing to promote cultural diversity,” said Walls. “Our panel of judges is peerless, and truly represents all the people of America.  I invite our member cities to submit their programs and concepts to us. In doing so, they will be contributing in a purposeful way to the goal of achieving true diversity.”

The judges this year are represented from NLC’s five constituency groups – National Black Caucus of Local Elected Officials (NBC-LEO); Women in Municipal Government (WIMG); Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Local Officials (GLBTLO); Asian Pacific American Municipal Officials (APAMO); and Hispanic Elected Local Officials (HELO).

The judges are:

  • Audwin Samuel, Councilmember, Beaumont, Texas (NBC-LEO);
  • Mary Dorothy “Dot” LaMarche, Vice-Mayor, Farragut, Tennessee (WIMG);
  • Greg Pettis, Councilmember, Cathedral City, California (GLBTLO);
  • APAMO Past President Gilbert Wong, Mayor, Cupertino, California; and
  • HELO Immediate Past President Karen Avilla, City Treasurer, Carson, California.

Award winners will be notified at the end of February, and the awards will be presented at the Congressional City Conference Celebrate Diversity Breakfast on Monday, March 10, 2014. A press release will be available in the NLC Press Room at the end of the Celebrate Diversity Breakfast announcing all of the award winners.

Only National League of Cities member cities are eligible to apply. The deadline for submission is Friday, January 31, 2014. For more information on the awards and to obtain a copy of the application, click here. The program is accepting PDF applications only and they must be sent to Rikka Batulan at Batulan@nlc.org.

Don’t miss this outstanding opportunity to be recognized for your hometown’s diversity programming. Your program could be among this year’s winners. 

Related Topics