Ellis Names 2012 NLC Leaders

NLC President Ted Ellis, mayor, Bluffton, Ind., has announced the chairs and vice chairs for NLC's standing committees and councils. The following will serve in 2012:

Community and Economic Development Policy and Advocacy Committee
Chair: Neal Andrews, councilmember, Ventura, Calif. 

Vice Chairs: Frank "Tony" Thomas, alderman, Savannah, Ga., and Priscilla R. Tyson, councilmember, Columbus, Ohio

Energy, Environment, and Natural Resources Policy and Advocacy Committee
Chair: Michael A. Sesma, council member, Gaithersburg, Md.

Vice Chairs: Matt Appelbaum, mayor, Boulder, Colo., and Mary Hamann-Roland, mayor, Apple Valley, Minn.

Finance, Administration, and Intergovernmental Rela-tions Policy and Advocacy Committee
Chair: Randy Riggs, council member, Waco, Texas

Vice Chairs: Robert Avery, councilman, Gadsden, Ala., and R. Michael Kasperzak Jr., vice mayor, Mountain View, Calif.

Human Development Policy and Advocacy Committee
Chair: Van R. Johnson, II, alderman, Savannah, Ga.

Vice Chairs: Mary Dorothy (Dot) La Marche, vice mayor, Farragut, Tenn., and Vicki Aubrey Welch, council member, Louisville, Ky.

Information Technology and Communications Policy and Advocacy Committee
Chair: M. Christopher Whitley, council member, High Point, N.C.

Vice Chairs: Larry Kitchens, council member, Hurst, Texas and Pat Miner, mayor pro tem, Plano, Texas

Public Safety and Crime Prevention Policy and Advocacy Committee
Chair: Kenneth D. Massey, council member, Farmington Hills, Mich.

Vice Chairs: Pete Constant, councilmember, San Jose, Calif., and Isaac (Ike) Robinson, Jr., commissioner, West Palm Beach, Fla.

Transportation Infrastruc-ture and Services Policy and Advocacy Committee
Chair: Lee Dunlap, council member, Plano, Texas

Vice Chairs: Ron Roberts, mayor, Temecula, Calif., and Patsy Kinsey, council member, Charlotte, N.C.

First Tier Suburbs Council
Chair: Denny Doyle, mayor, Beaverton, Ore.

Vice Chairs: David M. Sander, vice-mayor, Rancho Cordova, Calif., and Corey Rushton, councilmember, West Valley City, Utah 

Large Cities Council 
Chair: Dina Higgins, councilmember, Mesa, Ariz.

Vice Chair: Jan Marcason, council member, Kansas City, Mo.

Small Cities Council
Chair: Leon Maynor, council member, Lumberton, N.C. 

First Vice Chair: Ellen Polimeni, mayor, Canandaigua, N.Y.

Second Vice Chair: Stuart Gillaspie, council member, Burleson, Texas

University Communities Council 
Chair: Nancy Chaney, mayor, Moscow, Idaho

Vice Chairs: Pete Haga, community government relations officer, Grand Forks, N.D., and Alice Rodriguez, council member, Waco, Texas

City Futures Panel on Community and Regional Development
Chair: Mary McComber, councilmember, Oak Park Heights, Minn.

Vice Chair: Matt Appelbaum, mayor, Boulder, Colo.

Council on Youth, Education, and Families
Co-Chairs: Karl F. Dean, mayor, Nashville, Tenn., and Ronnie Steine, councilman at-large, Nashville, Tenn.

Vice Chairs: Johnny L. DuPree, mayor, Hattiesburg, Miss., and Karl Nurse, council member, St. Petersburg, Fla.

International Council
Chair: Henrietta Davis, Vice mayor, Cambridge, Mass.

Vice Chairs: Joe Davis, Sr., alderman, Milwaukee, Wisc, and Donald Rosen, deputy mayor, Sunrise, Fla.

Leadership Training Council
Chair: Roy Gold, mayor, Coral Springs, Fla.

Vice Chairs: Brian D. Beasley, commissioner, South Miami, Fla., and Carolyn T. Comitta, mayor, West Chester, Pa.

Advisory Council 
Chair: Debbie Quinn, council member, Fairhope, Ala.

Vice Chairs: Gretchen Driskell, mayor, Saline, Mich., and Darryl Moss, mayor, Creedmoor, N.C.

Corporate Partner Leadership Council 
Chair: Fred Wacker, director and chief operating officer, The Home Depot Foundation, Atlanta

Vice Chair: Tom Phillips, director, government affairs - state and local, Siemens Corporation, Washington, D.C.