Information Technology & Communications Federal Advocacy Committee

The Information Technology and Communications Committee is responsible for developing policy positions and leading NLC’s advocacy on issues involving broadband access and affordability, net neutrality, cable TV, phone services, spectrum issues, wireless facilities siting, smart cities, and cybersecurity. Most recently, the Committee’s work has focused on defending against federal preemption of wireless facilities siting authority, closing the digital divide, and broadband consumer protections for city residents.

NLC's Federal Advocacy Committee members include local elected officials and city staff from NLC member cities and towns across the country who are committed to discussing and influencing federal policy that has a direct and profound impact on local government operations.


Committee Roster


Vice Chair

Vice Chair

ITC Chair Gary Resnick ITC Vice Chair Corina Lopez ITC Vice Chair Stephanie Piko

Stephanie Piko
Centennial, Colo.

David Baker
Kenmore, Wash.

Corina Lopez
Vice Mayor
San Leandro, Calif.


Click here for the 2019 Information Technology and Communications Committee roster

Meetings & Events



Congressional City Conference

Summer Board and Leadership Meeting

City Summit

Policy & Resolutions

View the policies and resolutions crafted by and voted on by the Information Technology and Communications Committee:

2019 Information Technology and Communications Policy and Resolutions

Click here to view the full 2019 National Municipal Policy book containing each of the Federal Advocacy Committee chapters and resolutions.