State Municipal Leagues

State Municipal Leagues photo
State Municipal Leagues photo

The 49 state municipal leagues occupy a special position within the National League of Cities. As founding members of NLC, they continue to play an important role guiding the organization's priorities and serving as a link to cities in their state. Through intense collaboration, the state municipal leagues and NLC work to guide federal policy on issues that matter most to cities, share valuable resources with each other and promote innovation in municipal government.

State Municipal League Directory

ALABAMA LEAGUE OF MUNICIPALITIES
Ken Smith, Executive Director 
P.O. Box 1270 (535 Adams Avenue - 36104) 
Montgomery, Alabama 36102 
(334) 262-2566; kens@alalm.org 

ALASKA MUNICIPAL LEAGUE 
Kathie Wasserman, Executive Director 
217 Second Street, Suite 200 
Juneau, Alaska 99801 
(907) 586-1325; Kathie@akml.org 

LEAGUE OF ARIZONA CITIES AND TOWNS 
Ken Strobeck, Executive Director 
1820 West Washington Street 
Phoenix, Arizona 85007 
(602) 258-5786; kstrobeck@azleague.org 

ARKANSAS MUNICIPAL LEAGUE 
Don Zimmerman, Executive Director 
P.O. Box 38 (301 W. 2nd Street - 72114) 
North Little Rock, Arkansas 72115 
(501) 374-3484; daz@arml.org 

LEAGUE OF CALIFORNIA CITIES 
Carolyn Coleman, Executive Director
1400 K Street, 4th Floor 
Sacramento, California 95814 
(916) 658-8200

COLORADO MUNICIPAL LEAGUE 
Sam Mamet, Executive Director 
1144 Sherman Street 
Denver, Colorado 80203 
(303) 831-6411; smamet@cml.org 

CONNECTICUT CONFERENCE OF MUNICIPALITIES 
Joe Delong, Executive Director
900 Chapel Street, 9th Floor 
New Haven, Connecticut 06510-2807 
(203) 498-3030; jdelong@ccm-ct.org

DELAWARE LEAGUE OF LOCAL GOVERNMENTS 
Carl Luft, Executive Director 
P.O. Box 484 
Dover, Delaware 19903-0475 
(302) 678-0991; cfluft@udel.edu 

FLORIDA LEAGUE OF CITIES 
Michael Sittig, Executive Director 
P.O. Box 1757 (301 South Bronough, Suite 300 - 32301) 
Tallahassee, Florida 32302-1757 
(850) 222-9684; mikesittig@flcities.com 

GEORGIA MUNICIPAL ASSOCIATION 
Lamar Norton, Executive Director 
201 Pryor Street, S.W. 
Atlanta, Georgia 30303 
(404) 688-0472; lnorton@gmanet.com 

ASSOCIATION OF IDAHO CITIES 
Seth Grigg, Executive Director 
3100 South Vista Ave, Suite 310 
Boise, Idaho 83705 
(208) 344-8594; sgrigg@idahocities.org 

ILLINOIS MUNICIPAL LEAGUE 
Brad Cole, Executive Director 
P.O. Box 5180 (500 E. Capitol Avenue - 62701) 
Springfield, Illinois 62705-5180 
(217) 525-1220; bcole@iml.org

INDIANA ASSOCIATION OF CITIES AND TOWNS 
Matthew C. Greller, Executive Director 
125 W. Market Street, Suite 240 
Indianapolis, Indiana 46204 
(317) 237-6200; mgreller@citiesandtowns.org 

IOWA LEAGUE OF CITIES 
Alan Kemp, Executive Director 
500 SW 7th  Street, Suite 101 
Des Moines, Iowa 50309-4111 
(515) 244-7282; alankemp@iowaleague.org 

LEAGUE OF KANSAS MUNICIPALITIES 
Erik Sartorius, Executive Director 
300 S.W. 8th Street 
Topeka, Kansas 66603-3912 
(785) 354-9565; esartorius@lkm.org  

KENTUCKY LEAGUE OF CITIES, INC. 
Jonathan Steiner, Executive Director & CEO  
100 East Vine Street, Suite 800 
Lexington, Kentucky 40507-3700 
(800) 876-4552; jsteiner@klc.org 

LOUISIANA MUNICIPAL ASSOCIATION 
John Gallagher, Executive Director 
P.O. Box 4327 (700 North 10th Street - 70802) 
Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70821 
(225) 344-5001; jgallagher@lma.org 

MAINE MUNICIPAL ASSOCIATION 
Steve Gove, Executive Director 
60 Community Drive 
Augusta, Maine 04330 
(207) 623-8428; sgove@memun.org 

MARYLAND MUNICIPAL LEAGUE 
Scott A. Hancock, Executive Director 
1212 West Street 
Annapolis, Maryland 21401 
(410) 268-5514; scotth@mdmunicipal.org 

MASSACHUSETTS MUNICIPAL ASSOCIATION 
Geoffrey Beckwith, Executive Director 
One Winthrop Square 
Boston, Massachusetts 02110 
(617) 426-7272; gbeckwith@mma.org 

MICHIGAN MUNICIPAL LEAGUE 
Dan Gilmartin, Executive Director 
1675 Green Road 
Ann Arbor, Michigan 48105 
(734) 662-3246; dpg@mml.org 

LEAGUE OF MINNESOTA CITIES 
Dave Unmacht, Executive Director 
145 University Avenue, West 
St. Paul, Minnesota 55103-2044 
(651) 281-1200; dunmacht@lmc.org 

MISSISSIPPI MUNICIPAL LEAGUE 
Shari Veazey, Executive Director
600 East Amite Street, Suite 104 
Jackson, Mississippi 39201 
(601) 353-5854; shari1@mmlonline.com 

MISSOURI MUNICIPAL LEAGUE 
Dan Ross, Executive Director 
1727 Southridge Drive 
Jefferson City, Missouri 65109 
(573) 635-9134; dross@mocities.com   

MONTANA LEAGUE OF CITIES AND TOWNS
Tim Burton, Executive Director
P.O. Box 7388 (700 W. Custer Ave - 59602)
Helena, Montana 59604-7388
(406) 442-8768; tim.burton@mtleague.net   

LEAGUE OF NEBRASKA MUNICIPALITIES 
L. Lynn Rex, Executive Director 
1335 L Street 
Lincoln, Nebraska 68508 
(402) 476-2829; lynnr@lonm.org 

NEVADA LEAGUE OF CITIES AND MUNICIPALITIES 
Wes Henderson, Executive Director
310 South Curry Street 
Carson City, Nevada 89703 
(775) 882-2121; whenderson@nvleague.org 

NEW HAMPSHIRE MUNICIPAL ASSOCIATION 
Judy Silva, Executive Director 
P.O. Box 617 (25 Triangle Park Drive - 03301) 
Concord, New Hampshire 03302-0617 
(603) 224-7447; jsilva@nhmunicipal.org 

NEW JERSEY STATE LEAGUE OF MUNICIPALITIES 
Michael Darcy, Jr., Executive Director 
222 West State Street 
Trenton, New Jersey 08608 
(609) 695-3481; mdarcy@njslom.com 

NEW MEXICO MUNICIPAL LEAGUE 
William F. Fulginiti, Executive Director 
P.O. Box 846 (1229 Paseo de Peralta - 87501) 
Santa Fe, New Mexico 87504-0846 
(505) 982-5573; wfulginiti@nmml.org 

NEW YORK STATE CONFERENCE OF MAYORS AND MUNICIPAL OFFICIALS 
Peter A. Baynes, Executive Director 
119 Washington Avenue 
Albany, New York 12210 
(518) 463-1185; peter@nycom.org 

NORTH CAROLINA LEAGUE OF MUNICIPALITIES 
Paul A. Meyer, Executive Director 
North Carolina League of Municipalities 
308 W. Jones Street 
Raleigh, NC 27603 
(919) 715-4000; pmeyer@nclm.org 

NORTH DAKOTA LEAGUE OF CITIES 
R. Blake Crosby, Executive Director 
410 E. Front Ave. 
Bismarck, North Dakota 58504-5641 
(701) 223-3518; blake@ndlc.org 

OHIO MUNICIPAL LEAGUE 
Kent Scarrett, Executive Director 
175 South Third Street, Suite 510 
Columbus, Ohio 43215 
(614) 221-4349; kscarrett@omlohio.org

OKLAHOMA MUNICIPAL LEAGUE 
VACANT, Executive Director 
201 North East 23rd Street 
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73105 
(405) 528-7515 

LEAGUE OF OREGON CITIES 
Mike McCauley, Executive Director 
P.O. Box 928 (1201 Court Street, N.E. , Suite 200 - 97301) 
Salem, Oregon 97308 
(503) 588-6550; mmccauley@orcities.org 

THE PENNSYLVANIA MUNICIPAL LEAGUE 
Rick Schuettler, Executive Director 
414 North Second Street 
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17101 
(717) 236-9469; rschuettler@pamunicipalleague.org 

RHODE ISLAND LEAGUE OF CITIES AND TOWNS 
Brian Daniels, Executive Director 
1 State Street, Suite 502 
Providence, Rhode Island 02908 
(401) 272-3434; bdaniels@rileague.org 

MUNICIPAL ASSOCIATION OF SOUTH CAROLINA 
Miriam Hair, Executive Director 
P.O. Box 12109 (1411 Gervais Street - 29201) 
Columbia, South Carolina 29211 
(803) 799-9574; mhair@masc.sc 

SOUTH DAKOTA MUNICIPAL LEAGUE 
Yvonne Taylor, Executive Director 
208 Island Drive 
Ft. Pierre, South Dakota 57532 
(605) 224-8654; Yvonne@sdmunicipalleague.org 

TENNESSEE MUNICIPAL LEAGUE 
Margaret Mahery, Executive Director 
226 Capitol Blvd., Room 710 
Nashville, Tennessee 37219-1894 
(615) 255-6416; mmahery@tml1.org 

TEXAS MUNICIPAL LEAGUE 
Bennett Sandlin, Executive Director 
1821 Rutherford Lane, Suite 400 
Austin, Texas 78754-5128 
(512) 231-7400; Bennett@tml.org 

UTAH LEAGUE OF CITIES AND TOWNS 
Roger Tew, Interim Executive Director 
50 South 600 East, Suite 150 
Salt Lake City, Utah 84102 
(801) 328-1601; rtew@ulct.org 

VERMONT LEAGUE OF CITIES AND TOWNS 
Maura Carroll, Executive Director 
89 Main Street, Suite 4 
Montpelier, Vermont 05602-2948 
(802) 229-9111; mcarroll@vlct.org 

VIRGINIA MUNICIPAL LEAGUE 
Kim Winn, Executive Director 
P.O. Box 12164 (13 East Franklin Street - 23219) 
Richmond, Virginia 23241 
(804) 649-8471; kwinn@vml.org   

ASSOCIATION OF WASHINGTON CITIES 
Peter King, CEO
1076 Franklin Street SE 
Olympia, Washington 98501-1346 
(360) 753-4137; peterk@awcnet.org 

WEST VIRGINIA MUNICIPAL LEAGUE 
Lisa Dooley, Executive Director 
2020 Kanawha Blvd. East 
Charleston, West Virginia 25311 
(304) 342-5564; wvml@wvml.org 

LEAGUE OF WISCONSIN MUNICIPALITIES 
Jerry Deschane, Executive Director 
131 W. Wilson St. Suite 505 
Madison, Wisconsin 53703 
(608) 267-2380; jdeschane@lwm-info.org 

WYOMING ASSOCIATION OF MUNICIPALITIES 
Shelley Simonton, Executive Director 
315 West 27th Street 
Cheyenne, Wyoming 82001 
(307) 632-0398; ssimonton@wyomuni.org

 

Events

2017 State League Convention Schedule (forthcoming)

Listing of State League Conferences and Meetings (forthcoming, waiting on one date)

NLC's Private Discussion Groups for State Municipal Leagues

NLC hosts online discussion groups for state municipal league staff to network, ask questions and share ideas with their colleagues around the country. League directors and staff may subscribe to multiple lists. 

NLC has created the following private discussion groups available only to state league directors and staff:

  • Executive Directors - a discussion list for executive directors only. 

  • Deputy Executive Directors - a discussion list for deputy executive directors only.

  • Communications - a discussion list on state league communications issues, including newsletters/magazines, public affairs, etc.

  • Convention Planning - a discussion list on convention and meeting planning.

  • Education and Training - a discussion list on education and training programs, certification programs, etc.

  • Federal Legislative Issues and Reports - a discussion list on federal issues and legislation affecting municipalities.

  • Human Resources - a discussion list on human resources issues.

  • Legislative - a discussion list to share information on state legislative issues and advocacy activities for the state legislative sessions. 

  • Membership Services - a discussion list on issues affecting membership recruitment and retention and marketing of services and programs to prospective members.

  • Research - a discussion list on research-related and policy development issues.  Also a vehicle for NLC to inform state leagues about new reports, data collections, and other research materials that NLC has collected and for state leagues to send out notices of new reports and publications.

  • Technology - a discussion list to share information on state league technology issues and applications, including home pages, networks, etc.

  • State & Local Legal Center - this discussion list will enable league directors and league attorneys to receive more direct communication from the State and Local Legal Center on legal issues and federal court cases that are of importance to local governments.

To subscribe to a state league staff discussion list, contact Saba Aregai at aregai@nlc.org.

Steering Committee

The State League Steering Committee is composed of eight state league executive directors, each representing a region of the country, and who also serve, by virtue of their positions on the steering committee, as members of the NLC Board of Directors. The responsibilities of the steering committee include:

  • serving as the principal contact mechanism with NLC on issues relating to state league-NLC policy questions;

  • acting as a sounding board and feedback system to NLC regarding its services and activities;

  • making decisions on behalf of state leagues about scheduling, location, and program content for the state league directors summer meeting, the state league staff workshop, and other league staff meetings and training sessions;

  • selecting league directors to represent state leagues on various NLC committees where league representation is requested or sought, such as NLC's Advisory Council; and

  • assisting in shaping NLC's overall service program for state leagues.

The members of the steering committee represent each of the eight NLC geographic regions. Each of the committee members is elected for two-year terms by the league directors in their respective regions at the annual league directors summer meeting, with half of the members changing each year. A chairman of the committee is elected by the members of the incoming steering committee at the annual summer meeting of the league directors.

2016 Steering Committee Roster

Judy Silva (NH)
Region I (CT, ME, MA, NH, NY, RI, VT)

Kim Winn (VA)
Region II (DE, KY, MD, NJ, PA, VA, WV)

Lamar Norton (GA)
Region III (AL, FL, GA, NC, SC, TN)

Matt Greller (IN)
Region IV (IL, IN, MI, OH, WI)

Bennett Sandlin (TX)
Region V (AR, LA, MS, NM, OK, TX)

Alan Kemp (IA)
Region VI (IA, KS, MN, MO, NE)

Blake Crosby (ND)
Region VII (CO, MT, ND, SD, UT, WY)

Chris McKenzie (CA) 
Region VIII (AK, AZ, CA, ID, NV, OR, WA)

 

Comments or Questions?