WIMG Now Accepting Nominations for Leadership Award

WIMG Leadership Award winner Mayor Linda Blechinger, Auburn, GA, WIMG President Kathy Maness and NLC First Vice President Marie Lopez Rogers in Phoenix, AZ.
September 12, 2012

By Mary Gordon

Women in Municipal Government (WIMG), an NLC constituency group, is now accepting nominations for its prestigious WIMG Leadership Award, which recognizes individual female achievement in local government and strives to promote and encourage more women to run for elected municipal office. Each year, the award is presented to a female local official who has demonstrated outstanding leadership in local government by implementing a program that has proven successful in helping her community.

WIMG will present one outstanding woman with this notable award at its annual Leadership Award Luncheon at NLC's Congress of Cities and Exposition in Boston on Friday, November 30.  Nominees for the WIMG Leadership Award must be locally elected female officials from an NLC member city, with at least two years of service in elected office. While WIMG membership is not a requirement, nominees must be actively involved with NLC or a state municipal league. WIMG Board and WIMG Advisory Council members are not eligible to be nominated for the award. An award brochure and nomination form may be downloaded from the WIMG page on the NLC website, www. nlc.org/wimg.  Nominations may be e-mailed to constituencygroups@nlc.org. All nominations must be received by September 30.

Award applicants will be notified of their status prior to the Boston Congress of Cities. Finalists for the award will be announced a few weeks in advance of November 30 and should plan to travel to Boston to be present at the Leadership Award Luncheon, where the winner will be announced and honored along with the other finalists. This year's panel of judges includes: Mary Dorothy "Dot" LaMarche, vice mayor, Farragut, TN; Preston V. Lee, Jr., senior director,  Outreach Diversity and Inclusion, Freddie Mac; David Park, financial planning manager, ICMA-RC; Clinton Robinson, associate vice president, Community Affairs, Black & Veatch Corporation;  and Laura Jaramillo, vice president and community relations manager, Social Responsibility Group, Wells Fargo.  This year's Leadership Award Honorary Chair is WIMG Past President Daisy W. Lynum, commissioner, Orlando, FL.

Sponsors of the 2012 WIMG Leadership Award Luncheon include NLC Corporate Partners ICMA-RC, Wells Fargo, Cigna and Comcast. Last year's award winner was Mayor Linda Blechinger of Auburn, GA.

Details: For more information on the WIMG Leadership Award Program, or to obtain a nomination form, visit www.nlc.org/wimg.