Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender Local Officials (LGBTLO)

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender Local Officials (LGBTLO) constituency group is a voluntary association of local elected and appointed officials formed to encourage the active involvement and full participation of Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender municipal officials, and their supporters, in the organization and programs of the National League of Cities.


The focus of the group has been on a number of issues such as: the 2000 census, the HIV/AIDS pandemic, both as a public health care and a health care funding issue; domestic partnership policies and legislation; and discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation. LGBTLO recently changed its acronym on March 8, 2015 at the Congressional Cities Conference in Washington, D.C. They were originally known as GLBTLO.

LGBTLO was established in December 1993 by a group of municipal officials attending the Congress of Cities in Orlando, Florida. Led by Sherry Harris, Councilmember from the city of Seattle, Washington, LGBTLO became a constituency group of NLC members. Constituency groups are a vital part of the organization, serving as a forum for city officials with common interests to come together at conferences, present workshops and ensure that NLC policies reflect the diversity of its membership.


LGBTLO welcomes new and returning members each year.  The easiest way to join LGBTLO  is by paying annual dues and fees through the November Congress of Cities registration process.  Information about joining, including dues and fees, is available on the NLC Congress of Cities registration form.  Dues and fees can be paid online in conjunction with the NLC conference registration fee.  Prospective new members may also join throughout the year by filling out the membership application located in the membership brochure and submitting it to NLC according to its instructions.

2015 CCC GLBTLO Group Shot 


2016 Board of Directors

The LGBTLO Board of Directors is elected annually at the NLC Congress of Cities from the group's membership.  Each year, members are encouraged to submit their nominations for service on the Board.  For information about Board nominations and an application form, see the section about membership. 



First Vice President


Second Vice President

LaWana Mayfield


Andy Amoroso


Tom Green

LaWana Mayfield
Charlotte, North Carolina


Andy Amoroso 
Lake Worth, Florida


Tom Green 
Wilton Manors, Florida

Board Roster

"I am truly honored to serve as incoming President of LGBTLO. I hope to work with leadership to grow this constituency group and spread the work of the National League of Cities and the importance of Openly Lesbian, Gay, Bi-sexual, Transgender Local Elected Officials."
-LaWana Mayfield, Councilmember, Charlotte, North Carolina