Certificate Program

The NLC University Certificate Program builds on four core proficiency areas:

  1. Leadership

  2. Management

  3. Engagement

  4. Issue Expertise.


Attendees will be acknowledged for participation in individual courses, and are recognized for achievement over time through the award of certificates based on accumulated credits. Participants will be recognized for their achievements at an annual Leadership Luncheon at the Congress of Cities and Exposition and the Congressional City Conference. Each level of achievement will have its own form of recognition. The certificate levels include:

Below is a list of training categories and corresponding credits: